top of page
Stay In The Know:

Mission Trip Experience

As I was going into my senior year of high school I was given the opportunity to go to the beautiful country of Guatemala. This was something that had weighed heavily on my heart for a while so once I heard my church was headed back I knew I had to go. This country and it's people greeted me with open arms and was so, so good to me.

I am going to tell you my experience & why I think everyone should go at least one time in their lifetime.

1. Take A Leap

Making that first step and even deciding to go is huge. This is something you should pray and talk with your family about. Once you know you are ready to go prepare yourself financially. Mission trips, sadly are not cheap. Think of ways to help send you there. Some ways I fund raised were by sending letters in the mail to family & friends, sold candy bars and designed a t-shirt to sell.

2. Build Relationships and Unplug

This is a key reason for deciding to go. As you put yourself into a new comfort zone in a new country you also must be willing to build relationships with your team you will be going with. You will be with these people on your whole trip. What better time to connect with people?

3. Impact

Your main goal on a trip is to make an impact on peoples life. But, what people don't understand is the impact it has on your own life. This is the BEST thing I took away from my two trips to Guate. I never realized how good I have it until I saw these people. These people had dirt floors, no roof over their head & didn't know if they would even have food for the day. But they still let us into their home and let us show them how much Jesus loved them & by the end of our time together, how much I loved them. It showed me how much I've been taking for granted my whole life. My bed, my car, the roof over my head.

It is the best expieriencing and I highly recommend going at least once in your life.


bottom of page